Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Dear Blog, I love you. I really do love you. I didn’t think I would. To be honest, I resisted starting you for a long time. I thought my blogging days, like my goth days, were a part of my past, to be viewed nostalgically and possibly with slight cringing. But then I went to that online marketing seminar, and the panelists all raved about blogs, and said they were excellent ways for writers to connect with their community, not to mention being excellent ways for writers to, well, practice writing, so I figured I had to suck it up. I had to start writing. I had to start sharing.

But I still wasn’t a fan. It was just a thing I had to do. So I started with posting Lovergirl excerpts, because those were easy and lent themselves well to the blog format, since they were already written as diary entries. But then the book finished, and I was out of pre-written content. Which meant I had to write new stuff. Which meant I had to share.

So I did. I still didn’t really want to, but I was committed to keeping this blog alive. Most blogs die of neglect. This would not be one of them. I would write at least several entries a week. I would pillage my life for material. And I would hope that my readers would enjoy it and not judge me for TMI.

To my surprise, people seemed to connect with my content. I don’t promote this blog. I link to it via twitter, facebook, and google, but that’s about it. I don’t pimp it out anywhere else. And yet people find it and subscribe to it and like it and sometimes even repost entries. All of which is very sweet and all of which I adore.

But these days? These days I am drowning in words. And they aren’t the fun kind. I’ve got three final papers due for school within the next couple weeks. Lengthy, substantial, intricate, complex papers. And so they are sapping my body and soul, and this poor blog is getting neglected. I’m too consumed with those papers, with the space they take up in my head, and with the laborious task of putting words together in a format that makes sense.

Don’t worry, though. This blog won’t die. There is so much more to say and process and discuss. So I’ll be back. And there’s a weekly OKCupid update just around the corner, so no need to despair. And maybe I’ll even post an excerpt or two from my papers, if anyone is interested.

Until then,

xoxo

Dahlia

Image

