Tags

, , , , , ,

Many of you seem to enjoy learning what happens behind the scenes in the life of a writer–or, at least, this writer. Thank you so much; it means a lot to me.

So I’m going to share my latest development with you! My next release, an interactive novel called BREATHE WITH ME, is meant to give readers an opportunity to test-drive their own reactions to various social, sexual, and romantic circumstances… to notice themselves… and, if they don’t like where they end up, to wipe the slate clean and start over.

Better to do all that by reading a novel than dealing with it in real life, right?

Anyway, for the cover, I wanted something that felt like a movie poster–as opposed to the cover for LOVERGIRL, which I wanted to look and feel like a fragrance or lingerie ad. My partners at THE BAO HOUSE complied with a set of four concepts, borrowing from movie posters of the 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s. Here they are. Keep in mind that they’re VERY rough.

Image

Image

Rather than putting covers up for vote like I did last time, I’m going to go with the one that feels most genuine and reflective to me. But I thought it would be fun to share the actual post-production process with all of you, the stuff that happens after the damned manuscript is finally finished.

Anyway, BREATHE WITH ME will be out in a few weeks. And when it is, you’ll get to see the cover I selected.

But there’s more to a book than just its cover. Which is why I’m hoping you’ll enjoy the choose-your-own-ending format. It’s new for me, both in life and in literature, to give myself such freedom and flexibility. Hopefully, we’ll all remember that, if at first we don’t succeed, we can just try, try again, dammit.

